The Nays Have It: Cocoreccho is “unenjoyable”…

September 20, 2007 at 12:23 am 5 comments

gdc_locoroco.gif The Playstation Network-version of our favorite game isn’t liked by reviewers from across the spectrum. Not only have they pelted it left and right, but they’ve criticized the fact that it’s only an interactive screensaver. Despite being cheap and continuing the franchise, Joystiq went as far to complain that the game lacked the simplicity of the first. This is not good as LocoRoco, which seems to be suffering a “mid-life crisis”, is just two games into the franchise. IGN perhaps put it most lightly: “a celebration of characters…if not the gameplay”. littlevish at the forums has a nice compilation of the current previews for the game and BGL will have a metareview out sometime soon.

Entry filed under: BREAKING, CONSOLES, LOCO, OFFBEAT, OTHER, RELATED, SALES, TOKYO07, UNTAGGED.

Joystiq: LocoRoco PS3 loses “simplicity” of first game… Crisis Core: 470,000 and 2nd place in first week

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lancer  |  September 20, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    I can’t wait for it to download, I can’t imagine why they’d make such fuss over this just because it’s not exactly the same and it’s not really a “game”, so what!?!?!? Rejoice at the variety I say, what’s so bad about this little bit of change!?!?!?

    Reply
  • 2. Steven  |  September 21, 2007 at 6:10 am

    I just downloaded it and it is horrible. I loved the psp game, with a passion and I am just in awe at how terribly they have screwed this up. It is frustrating, difficult, and all the while – not fun at all. Don’t waste your time. I am about to delete it from my hard drive now and I have PLENTY of memory.

    Reply
  • 3. matneee  |  September 26, 2007 at 9:21 am

    I bought this the day it came out and I’ve got to say I really quite like it. It certainly captures the spirit of the original even if the gameplay is different and much like fl0w it’s a great little time-filler, which I suspect is the niche it’s supposed to fill. The thing is, this is a £1.99 title and I’ve read reviews treating it like a full price game – and it just doesn’t work like that. The gameplay and length is pared down from what you’d expext from a full-price title, but this is as much a piece of visual entertainment as it is a ‘game’ – which is probably why it’s marketed as an interactive screensaver. And it still retains the visual charm that the original had while providing good enough gaming and challenge to make you want to replay and open up the additional areas.
    Part of the problem is that despite being told otherwise by Sony, fans of the original probably expected a full sequel to the original – and this isn’t it. Butfor the price it’s at, you can’t go wrong with this, really.

    Reply
  • 4. locoroco  |  September 27, 2007 at 2:23 am

    So I’ve heard.
    Considering that I don’t have a PS3 and probably won’t for a verry long time, I won’t be able to *judge* Cocoreccho until I properly play it for myself.

    Reply
  • 5. Penrefe  |  September 29, 2007 at 1:03 am

    I orginally had LocoRoco for the PSP and after selling that a while back I have missed the game, so when I bought the PS3 and saw that a new LocoRoco game was available I downloaded it without thinking about checking up on it first. I wish I had, because this one’s not so good at all. It lacks the simplicity of the first, and I think they could’ve made much better use of the sixaxis thingy instead of a butterfly. Don’t like it, can’t play it…the only good thing is the horribly addictive music =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


New Site

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

