For Your Consideration: WiiCade

February 18, 2007 at 1:11 am 6 comments

{For Your Consideration} is a series that the blog writes on Wednesdays. It will follow off-beat video game topics, current event rants, and other topics that I rarely discuss or that are unrelated to the blog. Enjoy!

I was giddy earlier this week after lining up for 4 hours in the sub-zero degree wind chill weather to purchase a $249 Wii. I was even more giddy when I found out about WiiCade.com, a website especially formatted for the Wii Internet Browser, featuring several arcade games, all flash based. Unlike other sites that are formatted for internet browsers, this one is by far the best. Not only does it match all of the dimensions of the Wii settings, but the controller is very responsive to all of the games. This might just be the best thing that’s happened to me this week.

I’ve been playing Snake Classic for about a week now. I’ve chosen ONLY to play this game when I go on the WiiCade so I could study it. You pick your background and you move your Wiimote like a mouse around the screen, leading your snake. There is no dragging or clicking, luckily. As soon as you near the wall of doom, your controller rumbles warning you. This is a wake-up call to anyone whose not paying attention to their poor little snake. It’s also just a warning. Now, there are pros and cons with everything. As you play more and more, the controller will feel less “gittery”. You’ll have a fun time with it. Promise.

The site has achieved more than it has ever dreamt of achieving.  With thousands of games available, the website also has a blog & forum system for communication purposes to devoted members and visitors. It is continually adding other flash components, and hopefully Nintendo will realize the potential of third-party sites formatted for use on the Wii. After all, SONY has–a little bit–with the PSP.

So, if you have a Wii, go ahead and type this thing in your Opera browser: http://www.wiicade.com. If you don’t, maybe it’s convincing time. The Wii is $249, is a great console, and has done wonders for me without me buying a single other game. Obviously, I’m going to in the future, but you get the point. Don’t get mad; get a Wii. And then visit WiiCade.

 

Entry filed under: CONSOLES, FYCARCHIVES, OFFBEAT, SPECIALS, UNTAGGED.

Tidbits Syphon Filter: Dark Mirror Demo Available

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. littlevish  |  February 18, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    are you in the UK or something that the wii came out this week?

    Reply
  • 2. locoroco  |  February 18, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Nope. The US gets shipments on-and-off. You just have to call all the stores like crazy.

    Reply
  • 3. littlevish  |  February 19, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    oh i see. i haven’t really been looking for ’em so i didn’t know. i do know that my local best buy has a big stack of PS3’s that nobody wants to buy ha

    Reply
  • 4. locoroco  |  February 19, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Yeah, same here. I asked about the PS3s just curiously at a local EBGames and the employee said: “Oh, we have a bunch!”

    Reply
  • 5. Yata  |  February 25, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    My problem with Wiicade is that there are almost too many games, with quite a few not behaving that well on the Wii’s built-in browser.

    I have recently discovered Wiigwag, much smaller but somehow feeling like games are more seriously tested. And the “small kids” is very popular with my kids!

    http://www.wiigwag.com

    Reply
  • 6. locoroco  |  February 25, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    I can already tell you that I like the layout better on Wiigwag, but I’ve yet to have tested any of the games. Thanks so much. I bookmark the games I play only and rarely visit WiiCade.com simply because of the overwhelming collection. I will check this out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


New Site

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

